Fatherhood is not for Sissies

Some great quotes from a book I received…

“Fatherhood Is Not For Sissies”

  • I felt something impossible for me to explain in words. Then when they took her away, it hit me. I got scared all over again and began to feel giddy. Then it came to me. I was a father. – Nat King Cole
  • When Dad cant get the diaper on straight, we laugh at him as though he were trying to walk around in high-heel shoes. Do we ever assist him by pointing out that all you have to do is lay out the diaper like a baseball diamond, put the kid’s butt on the pitcher’s mound, bring home plate up, then fasten the tapes at first and third base? – Michael K. Meyerhoff
  • Raising kids is part joy and part guerrilla warfare. – Ed Asner
  • To become a father is not hard; to be a father is, however. – William Busch
  • A baby has a way of making a man out of his father and a boy out of his grandfather. – Angie Papadakis
  • One father is more than a hundred schoolmasters. -Old English Proverb
  • Before I got married, I had six theories about bringing up children. Now I have six children and no theories. – John Wilmot
  • Steve was terrible in chemistry and I’d try helping him with his homework. Once, when he got a D in the subject, he came home and said, “Dad. you flunked.” – Arnold Spielberg
  • My father used to play with my brother and me in the yard. Mother would come out and say “You’re tearing up the grass.” “We’re not raising grass,” Dad would reply. “We’re raising boys.”- Harmon Killebrew
  • People who say they sleep like babies usually don’t have them. – Leo J. Burke
  • A father is always making his baby into a little woman. And when she is a women he turns her back again. – Enid Bagnold
  • One night a father overheard his son pray, “Dear God Make me the  kind of man my Daddy is.” Later that night, a father prayed, “Dear God, Make me the kind of man my son wants me to be.” – Unknown
  • You can learn many things from children. How much patience you have, for instance. – Franklin P. Jones
  • If you can give your son or daughter only one gift, let it be enthusiasm. – Bruce Barton
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment