A True Miracle

As I have said, my wife and I are expecting our first child. We couldn’t be more excited about the many memories that are going to be made. Its no surprise that this is a heaven sent miracle from up above.

After being married for about 2 and half years, we decided to start trying to have a child this past November. My wife was beyond ready for this adventure while I was extremely nervous. I’m definitely a planner and not always ready to welcome something I know nothing about.

A few months went by and no babies were on their way. We distracted ourselves with projects around the house from painting the basement to putting up a blacksplash in our kitchen. I must say I’m pretty proud of that backsplash.:) I noticed my wive becoming more anxious as our friends, family, and co-workers were getting pregnant all around her. When you really want something it always seems like everyone has it but you. We continued trying and actively praying for a blessing of a child.

Finally around May we decided to try ovulation tests for the entire month to make sure everything was “workin like it should.”  And nothing.  The tests said my wife wasn’t ovulating. Due to my wife’s thyroid condition, we always knew this could be a possibility. We were crushed, starting to doubt and wondering why??? . We decided it was best to schedule an appointment with her doctor to see what the next steps may be.

That Sunday we attended church and were really hit hard with the sermon that morning. These few statements were the turning point in our struggle…

“When you’re wrestling, when it’s really churning over in my mind and in your gut-what’s
your prayer? What’s your core desire? What is that you really want? Jacob wanted to be
blessed. But for that to happen, Jacob had to do something he had never done. He had to
surrender, to give up his scheming ways and give in to God. That’s what God always
wants, for us to give up on our self reliance and enter into a relationship of trust and
dependence, a relationship that acknowledges our need for Him and looks to Him rather
than ourselves.”

My wife and I, with heavy hearts, went to the altar and just prayed for God’s will. We surrendered our desires and all our plans. Whatever His plans are for us we are ready to accept them. With many tears and a little peace we continued to the appointment.

Days later my wife was late and before we went to the doctors we wanted to be sure. My wife decided to take a pregnancy test just to be sure…and BOOM! I heard crying coming from upstairs and thought something was wrong. When we met at the steps and I couldn’t believe what she said! My first reaction was “Are you sure? Is it upside down?”  In my complete shock I forgot that there were 2 lines no matter which way I looked at it. We were so overwhelmed with joy! We ran to Walgreens and to take a few more tests just to be sure. After all, the other tests said she wasn’t even ovulating.

Are you serious? How amazing is this? Science told us that nope… sorry… no way its possible. And God in His amazing love for us gives us one of the greatest gifts ever! What an amazing story of faith! I can’t help but want to share that story with everyone. A true testament that everything is done in God’s timing.

Even when it seems difficult and you don’t have anymore hope. Just know that you are not alone. I know of many people going thru similar situations right now and they continue to pray for God’s will and not for certain “things” to happen so they may get what they want.  Know that the blessing that will follow your faithfulness will be more than you can ever hope for!
Are you going through a hard time? Feels like faith and hope are all but gone?

    • Lesli
    • August 7th, 2011

    So amazing CJ! Thanks for sharing this. Great reminder of how important it is to surrender everything to God and put your trust in Him. We are all guilty of wanting something so badly and forgetting that it will happen all in God’s timing. I am so excited for you guys! Being a parent is such a rewarding experience! You and Lindsey will be wonderful parents! Love you guys!

    • Thanks so much. Its great to have people around you that remind you of how blessed we all really are. We have many places to go to for some parenting advice. 🙂

    • Viveka
    • August 8th, 2011

    I loved reading that! Thanks for sharing. I’m so glad there are more people in this world that understand grace as a gift and that we are all unworthy, but His love extends deeper than our worth. I too have had those moments where I know God wanted absolute surrender to His plan and not my own. I didn’t always get what I wanted, but my relationship with Him grew deeper because of it. I will pray for the health of Lindsay and your blessing. Thanks again…for letting me get to know you two a little more :o)

    • Glad you enjoyed it and also have found comfort in His plan for all of us. Hope to see you in a few months for Lyla Boo’s birthday party!

  1. Everyone is susceptible; nobody is immune from the possible occurrence of skin cancer.
    Note that stretch marks are a type of scar, and sunless tanner will cover them if
    they are a few years old. And the spray gun is not a Wagner as she
    laughed but a specially designed high tech sprayer just for spray tans.
    It can be argued that the sun is a good source of Vitamin – D.

    The best part is that their products are very easy to apply
    and are made of completely natural ingredients. If you were to take a look online you will notice that a number of agencies can provide you with
    this service. Indeed, self tanning is an instant way of getting
    that perfect bronze look. The major benefit of these extractors is that they
    prevent too much tanning solution from being sprayed on customers, which can result in streaks.
    DHA is not a toxic ingredient, so you do not have to worry about an allergic reaction to it.
    With the recent release of new reality show Desperate Scousewives,
    it would appear that the fake tan trend is going nowhere fast in the foreseeable
    future.

  2. It is perfedct time to make some plans for the long run and it is time too be
    happy. I have learn this submit and if I mayy jujst I want too suggest you few fascinating issues
    or suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles rrelating to
    this article. I wish to read even more issues abvout it!

  1. November 18th, 2011
  2. January 4th, 2012

Leave a Reply

