3 Generations…

After 5 years of patiently waiting, I was swore into the Delaware FD. It was a long time of mostly closed doors, some cracked open and others wide open. I couldn’t be happier with the department I ended up at and the company that surrounded me tonight.

It was a great night for the new recruits, including myself, but even bigger for my family. My 9 month pregnant wife, in-laws, and mother were in attendance. Most importantly grandfather(47 yrs at Plain Twp. FD) and father(24 yrs at Bedford FD) were both there to pin my badge.

Most families have 3 or 4 generation pictures when their newest great-grandson, grandson, or son is born. But not many are able to have a 3 generation picture of firefighters. I can’t tell you how proud I am to be in that picture and only hope I can be half the firefighter and public servant my father and grandfather were and continue to be.

I would be blind if I didn’t recognize the “organizer” of this entire process and be thankful and grateful to Lord. These past 5 years only affirms this verse…

Proverbs 16:9 In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.

Best quote of the night was by my grandfather saying ” You have been my grandson 26 yrs but now you are my brother”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

    • viv
    • January 24th, 2012

    That brought a tear to my eye. Congratulations!!

    • nancy
    • January 25th, 2012

    Congratulations!!!! As I sit here and tears roll down my face, my heart is full of happiness and pride as a daughter, sister, and aunt of firefighters. What a special moment for all of you. God, please keep him safe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

