US 62 FAIL

This weekend my wife and I were on the road again heading up north to see some family and friends. A weekend full of celebration and just hanging out at the Hall of Fame weekend is something we’ve done for as long as I can remember.

I came home to do a quick run and then head out on the road. My wife was already ready which I was both surprised and happy about. Usually she puts me on a limited talking period early in the morning. I tend to come home and ask a million questions. And the worse thing is that I don’t usually give her a chance to respond because I don’t breathe between questions. How are you? How did you sleep? Are you hungry? What do you want to eat? You wanna go to the pool? What do you think you want for dinner? Think we should see a movie? How about a bike ride? And some how I manage to get all those questions out in about 12.6 seconds. So I can be a little overwhelming in the morning 🙂 I think that may be why my wife was ready to go before 8. Just to avoid the above 20 questions in 15 seconds game.

So since she was ready, I was like sweet let’s get on the road! I could run with my brother later and I could take her to a pit stop on the way that I thought she would enjoy.

Quick background to why I thought this be a good idea. Earlier that weekend we went to the State Fair, she really enjoyed all the crafts there. So being an amazing husband I decided to take the scenic route to Canton up US 62. We could swing thru amish country. Maybe stop in a shop or two. And just really enjoy the scenary together.

About 40 minutes into the trip, I knew I had made a BIG mistake. We were driving up, down, left, right, under brides, over hills, and mostly dodging buggies. Even worse than the horse and buggies were the “treats” the horses left all over the road.  As I avoided one pile of a horse’s “carbon footprint,” I knew this wasn’t the trip I hoped for. My 13 week pregnant wife started putting her hand over her mouth, began to change color and there was no longer a pregnancy “glow” about her.  Another few minutes went by and she said she was a lil nauseas but just needed to take a quick pee break. I quickly found a fabulous place for my pregnant wife (thirty minutes later) to use the restroom! She never did get to that glorious McDonalds restroom. Instead, she didn’t even make it out of the parking lot before she decided to share her already consumed subway breakfast with the rest of the travelers :/

I felt awful! I had these great plans to give my wife a great morning drive. And now she was having some of her worst morning sickness, thanks to US 62 and my not so excellent driving. Luckily my wife is extremely patient, forgiving and understanding. Which I give her plenty of oppurtunities, to practice all of those great qualities. So I definitely wont be driving country roads for a while or at least waiting till the 1st trimester blues is over.

Any other funny 1st trimester stories? That may help me feel better about my big time FAIL on US 62.

  1. August 21st, 2011
  2. September 1st, 2011

Leave a Reply

